Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO)

"Improving Health Worldwide"

Background & History

indian healthcare

stronger together

Background & History
"To empower physicians of Indian origin to achieve highest professional standards."

GAPIO Awards 2020

Global Association of Physicians of Indian Origin (GAPIO), a non-profit organization was established in 2011. Padma Vibhushan, Dr. Prathap C Reddy, Chairman of Apollo Hospitals Group is the Founder President of GAPIO along with Dr. Sanku Rao – Past President of AAPI, USA and Dr. Ramesh Mehta – President of BAPIO, UK.

The aim of the organization is to bring together 1.4 million physicians of Indian origin in the world on one professional platform. This substantial workforce of physicians is a valuable resource, which can help to mobilize significant developments in the healthcare globally as well as in India.

GAPIO has a presence in 50 countries. GAPIO members belong to various medical specialties and super specialties which includes several Padma awardees, twenty Dr. B C Roy Awardees, recipients of National and International awards.

In order to recognize the Excellence in various Healthcare services by Indian Doctors and to honor them, GAPIO is pleased to announce the following awards which will be given this year during the annual conference in January 2021 under the following categories:

  1. Dr. I A Modi Awards
  2. GAPIO Excellence in Radiology Awards
  3. GAPIO Surgical Excellence Awards
  4. GAPIO Excellence in Diagnostics Awards
  5. Dr. Prathap C Reddy Philanthropy Award
  6. GAPIO Lifetime Achievement Award

Awards A to D will be given in two categories i.e. Distinguished Clinician and Young Clinician (less than 45 years of age as on 1st October 2020)

Distinguished Clinician will get cash award of Rs. 1 lakh with Citation and Young Clinician will get cash award of Rs. 50,000/- with citation.
Awards at E and F will be given to one person only and will carry a cash award of Rs. 1 lakh with citation.
One person can apply for only one award.

You are requested to kindly send a duly completed Nomination Form along with completed Annexure of concerned award latest by 10th November 2020 through email to Dr. A K Tandon (

Awards will be decided by the Jury. Decision of the Jury will be final.

Please click here to download the Nomination form and Annexures
Nation Board Of Examination
IMS Health and Quintiles